Why do we feel this need to be perfect?

I’m back! Yes, I do realize that it has been a very hot minute since I have been a presence in this space as well as my small business. But here I am nonetheless. So let’s get into it.

First, let me start by saying I am trying to be better at showing up for social media and Almost Zero Waste. But I will be blunt, it is HARD. Between working full time, continuing my education in a Masters program, maintaining a social life and a healthy relationship, all the while trying to maintain my sanity, something had to give. Something was going to get less of my attention than the others, and unfortunately, it was Almost Zero Waste.

Which leads me to the topic I wanted to talk about. Why do we feel the need to be SO perfect?

One of the reasons that Almost Zero Waste was the thing that fell by the wayside was because I was in this head space that if I wasn’t showing up for my very small business in a same exact way that other small businesses were showing up for their business, that I felt like I couldn’t do it at all. Which is so ironic, because Almost Zero Waste is quite literally built on living a lifestyle that isn’t perfectly constructed and doesn’t look like everyone else’s lifestyle….

I spent so much time comparing myself to others and trying to meet certain deadlines that were just unrealistic for the type of business I was running, and honestly the type of business that I wanted to run for the years to come. It was so off putting, having this pressure to be like everyone else I saw. Have you ever felt this way, whether it be in your professional or personal life?

So what can we do? Unfortunately, the answer is not a one size fits all. All I can do is tell you what I did. I took a step back and examined what I loved about this lifestyle, how I could be and do better and most importantly, what was realistic. I had to remind myself that I am only one person and the bandwidth I have is only going to go so far, especially with so many other things happening in my life that are non-negotiable. And I mean I really examined. I made lists. I made schedules. I really tapped into myself and questioned why I was doing this, what drew me to continue on and what type of business owner I wanted to be right now.

And here is what I came up with: I will not be the type of business owner that posts engaging stories and posts every day. I will not be the type of business owner that is doing product drops every week on the same exact day. I will not be the type of blog writer that writes insightful and thought provoking articles every week. I most likely will not be the type of business owner that is worrying themselves sick to stay on trend. Because I am not perfect.

But I CAN promise you that I will make products that I whole heartedly believe in. I will write blog posts when I am feeling insightful and motivated and inspiring. I will give as much of myself to my business as my mind and body allows. And whatever comes of that, is what is meant for me and Almost Zero Waste. And I am so incredibly excited to see what comes of that.

Leave a comment